St. Eloise + NYC

Dear Saints –

IMG_3631
My new hometown!

DID YOU KNOW? … I moved to New York City! You may have seen that on one of the social medias, but I’ll confirm it in this letter – I’m here! I’ve been here almost two months. (What!?) I’m paying rent, buying groceries at the local market, and doing laundry (for the first time in my life) at a laundromat! It’s all very new, very big, and very, very exciting! I guess that also means I haven’t written in months. So here we are!

So what does this mean for St. Eloise?

Many of you have asked about the band. Your FAQ:

“Did the band move with you?”

No, as much as I would love them to have ventured up here with me, the guys I play with are married with kids and homes and all kinds of adult responsibilities. All good things! But I’ll be either having them join me for important gigs up here, or meeting and playing with the endless musicians already living in the City.

“Do you have gigs?”

I’ve had two in Manhattan so far, with one happening this Wednesday in Brooklyn! The first two were on the same day – a crazy sort of adventure, one on a fancy hotel rooftop, the other in a fun, dive bar. My small audience was very encouraging, and plan to come to future shows!

“Will you carry your monster keyboard around with you?”

If you’ve seen me perform live, you know the beast spoken of. It’s possibly 100lb with the case. Thankfully, I don’t have to try to lug that about! I bought a smaller, 15lb Yamaha MOXF6, a synthesizer with more capabilities than can fit in an unabridged version of Les Miserables.

What do you hope will happen?”

Honestly? Here’s what I really hope for: to learn more about my craft, my passion and my Self. I hope to become more engaging in my performances, to become consistent in my practicing, and stronger in my songwriting. I hope, yes, the “right person” will hear my music and it will take off – viral videos, tours, sold out shows, CD’s flying off the virtual shelves. But at the end of the day, I hope that in this great big city that wants to chew you up and spit you out, pursuing music will make me a better person.

Thank you so much for supporting me, for your encouragement, feedback and thoughts! It truly means so very much.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

 

All my love,

St. Eloise

Leave a comment